Criminal Defense Lawyer | Understanding FL Felony Crimes
Criminal Defense Lawyer . Although legally you are considered to be innocent until proven guilty, if you are facing a criminal charge, you will find that there are those that would not afford you this courtesy.

Hiring a criminal defense lawyer in Florida is an excellent way to go about criminal charges, ensuring that the rights of the clients are protected against overzealous prosecution and other law enforcement officers who may take a bogus standing. Irrespective of the legislation under which an individual is being accused, the client should hire a skilled and experienced defense lawyer who will defend him against any criminal charge.
Due to the nature of criminal charges, their levels and the types of penalties that come with them, it is important to understand these criminal charges in detail to be in a position to find the best criminal defense lawyer.
In Florida, criminal offenses are classified into two main categories namely;
1. Felony
According to Florida laws, a felony is any crime that is liable to be punished if committed in Florida, by death or incarceration in a state penitentiary. An individual can be charged with felony if he or she is found or suspected of committing crimes such as murder, rape, manslaughter, kidnapping, burglary, robbery, grand theft, sexual battery, aggravated child abuse, forgery and uttering as well as possession and or sale of drugs.
Depending on the level of felony involved, the penalty or punishment will vary. In Florida laws, felonies are classified into the following categories;
v Capital felony. It may involve offenses such as capital drug trafficking and armed kidnapping. Such charges may lead death sentences or life incarceration.
v Life felony. It can be punishable by death, life incarceration or a fine of up to $15,000.
v First-degree felony. It can be punishable by 30 years in prison, a fine of $10,000 or both.
v Second-degree felony. It may result in incarceration for fifteen years or a fine of $10,000.
v Third-degree felony. It may lead to serving a jail term of up to five years or a fine of $5,000.
2. Misdemeanor
In Florida, an individual can be charged with a misdemeanor if he or she is found or suspected of violating county or state laws. Most misdemeanors are punishable by fines, probation, court costs or incarceration for not more than one year. Unlike felonies, most misdemeanor charges are bondable charges according to a bond program.
Here, a person can be charged with a misdemeanor if he or she is suspected of committing crimes like possessing marijuana, resisting crime without violence, petit theft, driving under influence (DUI), shoplifting, robbery, carjacking, burglary, driving with an invalid license, assaulting, battery, theft, and other related charges. A criminal defense
If you feel that you have been unjustly charged of a felony or misdemeanor, contact the best criminal defense lawyer in Tampa, John DeGirolamo.


